Blog

Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Struggling to Get By: The Real Cost Measure, reports one out of every three families in California, over 3.2 million, struggle to meet their basic needs each month.  Many of these families have…
Friday, April 29, 2016
Struggling to Get By: The Real Cost Measure in California 2015 is a financial stability report that measures the real cost of living in California’s communities.   Struggling to Get By introduces the…
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
  The 40th Annual Community Service Awards were presented on Tuesday, April 19, at the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa. Sponsored by United Way Monterey County Volunteer Center, this free community…
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
The latest national survey of Americans shows that our love affairs with plastic is undermining our financial stability. According to Bankrate.com, only 52 percent of Americans have saved more than…
Friday, March 4, 2016
Three Community Leaders Selected for Women’s Policy Institute Fellowship; Hone Leadership and Early Childhood Development Skills This week, the Women's Foundation of California announced three local…
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Lacking stable housing is linked to a myriad of social, emotional, academic and physical limitations.  Students who transfer schools more frequently than average experience lower graduation rates and…
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Assemblyman Mark Stone will kick off the 2016 Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) season on Friday, January 29 at the Cesar Chavez Library in Salinas.  Hosted by the Tri-County VITA partners, the…
Monday, August 10, 2015
The United Way Monterey County Board of Directors is proud to announce that Katy Castagna has been named President and CEO.  Castagna has been with UWMC for more than 10 years and previously served…